On The Menu: Breakfast Cupcakes

  • Bacon, spinach, bell pepper and egg cupcake

My biggest problem with consistently eating right is the availability of choices. Good versus bad choices or to not eat at all. I am a snacker and used to be a bread lover (trying really, really hard). If I don’t have a “good choice” ready to go or in my face, there’s a huge temptation for me to just go right into the pantry and grab a ramen or bag of chips. You might be thinking why then would I even have such options in my pantry? Well, because I live with my husband (again, I shall remind everyone that he’s Mr. 12% body fat)  who grew up with snacks galore in his pantry and every single kind of Costco freezer food. He loves them and is able to regulate how much he eats so we have them in our house. Also, as much as we love whole nutrition, we can’t help but indulge in that bowl of steamy ramen with a runny egg once in a blue moon. If you’re Korean, it’s like a sin if you don’t enjoy that stuff. Ok, so moving along. Breakfast is the toughest for me. I love breakfast food (bagels used to be my bff) but most of the time mornings are hectic so if I skip breakfast, I usually make a really bad choice at lunch because I’m starving.  Smoothies are a great and easy option but I love bacon and eggs. These cupcakes are popular but mine do not have potatoes in them. They fit the “clean eating” and “paleo” bill but I just love these as my go-to in the mornings. I eat 2-3 depending on how hungry I am. Just make them all, put them in the fridge and pop them in the microwave for 30 seconds to reheat. It’s truly an easy and satisfying breakfast without all the junky carbs. Oh, Abby loves them too! Seriously, who wouldn’t? Next time I make them, I’m going to put half of the recipe in the mini muffin tin for her. Great finger food idea!

Makes 12 cupcakes

  • 10 eggs
  • 1/2- 3/4 cup of frozen spinach chopped up
  • half a large bell pepper or one small pepper diced into small chunks
  • half an medium onion diced into small chunks
  • 4 slices of bacon or 4 sausage patties

Cook the bacon to your liking first. I like it a bit more on the crunchier side. After it’s done cooking, cool and chop up into small pieces and set aside.

IMG_7931

Dice and chop up all your veggies. You can actually put any kind of veggie into this recipe. I have used mushrooms, sun dried tomatoes and onions before with a bit of basil for a more Italian-y (I just made that word up) breakfast.

IMG_7933

Crack all of your eggs and whisk thoroughly

IMG_7934

Everything in the bowl. I do not add extra salt to this recipe. For us, the bacon is already salty enough for us but if you like things salty, I suggest you stop liking salty things. Haha…just kidding… kind of… not really…But honestly, add a couple of dashes if you wish

IMG_7935

Line your muffin tin with paper cups. I tried it without cups and it was a mess because the cupcakes would not come out cleanly at all. Pour the mixture into 12 cups and try and make them as even as possible.

IMG_7936

Bake at 375 degrees for 20 minutes. They will be super puffy right out of the oven and deflate once cooled

IMG_7937

Once your cupcakes have cooled, peel the paper off and then toss them in a ziploc bag or tupperware for the fridge (you don’t want soggy paper cups). These will not peel cleanly but you should be able to get the majority of the muffin out of the cup.

IMG_8121

Enjoy!

One thought on “On The Menu: Breakfast Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

